Effortless

This weekend I traveled to Milan for FASHION WEEK… Whose life am I living?? Surrounded by fashion and wonderfully fabulous people, I couldn’t help but feel like I had entered a new world. I must have come to a stop at least 50 times on the street as I stood in awe watching the most beautifully clothed people walk by. Only the best fur, leather and yes, sneakers (who knew they go well with suits?) dawned hundreds of women and men walking the streets of Milan. The style was so effortless and seemingly easy that it made me want to run into the next store to try and copy their glamorous way of dressing.

Galleria ceiling.

Galleria ceiling.

On Friday we made our way to the train station with our hats on and our beautiful outfits packed away in our oversized suitcases. To our surprise, our train ticket indicated that we were in business class even though we swore we picked the cheapest option on the website. We were delighted to find dark leather seats that reclined along with a complimentary beverage and yummy snack. Only an hour and forty minutes later we arrived in Milan to the most gorgeous train station filled with businessmen (I love a man in a suit), beautiful children in adorable outfits and women who looked like they had hopped out of a magazine. Jennie’s friend Chris met us at the train station and we took a metro to his apartment where we would be staying for the weekend. We freshened up and hit the streets to find the Duomo in Milan as well as the Galleria full of overpriced stores with amazing window displays. It was our first taste of Milan fashion and we couldn’t wait to find more.

Gelato with nutella on top, YUM!

Gelato with nutella on top, YUM!

After a quick stop at the BEST gelato place in Milan (Cioccolati Italiani), yes they do fill your cone with chocolate from a chocolate faucet before they plop 2 oversized scoops of gelato on top, we headed out to find the fashion district and stumbled upon the entrance to the Les Copains show which obviously star stuck us beyond words. We hung around, taking pictures of the fabulous people walking in then finally tore ourselves away to find the Sforza Castle with a carnival going on behind it. Funny how something so old and ancient can be next to something so jovial and fun. On our way back we stumbled upon the main fashion district with stores I usually only dream about. Knowing our budgets couldn’t even afford to step inside, we oohed and ahhed at the window displays and gawked at the beautiful people walking by who could actually afford to go in.

Fashion show set-up.

Fashion show set-up.

On Saturday we woke up ready to take on the day in our Fashion Week designed outfits. I slipped into my faux fur coat (thanks H&M!) and we headed out, dying to find a fashion blogger or take a picture with someone famous. We roamed the streets for hours and although we never ran into anyone worth talking about, we did get a great workout and took lots of pictures, nevermind the whispers from a few Italian men who said we looked “molto bella”. We finished our day by shopping a little then making dinner for the boys we were staying with and headed to bed early with dreams of European fashion dancing through our heads.

My outfit for the day!

My outfit for the day!

It was a wonderful weekend and although we didn’t get into a show, the excitement of the city and the beauty of the people who effortlessly walked the streets was something I will never forget. Maybe a few years from now I will be the one wearing disgustingly expensive but utterly fabulous clothing, holding my invitation to the hottest fashion show in Milan. Nonetheless, Jennie and I were so extremely excited to come back to Florence where metro stations are not needed and walking to every destination is within reach. After I return home from any trip, I am always so blessed that I chose Florence as my home base… Small enough to get around but big enough for endless exploring.

The Duomo in Milan.

The Duomo in Milan.

Until next time I will be searching for sales in European stores so I can match their fashion without matching their price tag!

Molly

Leave a Reply

