Ciao Bella!

I have arrived! After almost having a mental breakdown on hour 5 in the Frankfurt airport because the German language is incredibly intimidating, I finally found a bunch of American students on my flight to Florence. Never have I ever been so grateful to hear the English language spoken! The sweet lady in Chicago ended up putting me in Business Class on my flight to Florence and I had the best buffalo mozzarella and pesto… Yes on THE PLANE! And of course I didn’t turn down the multiple pieces of chocolate they gave me either 🙂

I arrived in Florence to an unfortunately dark sky with pouring rain. I took a taxi from the airport with a couple of other students and boy was that an adventure… I thought Mexican streets were scary but these streets turned sharply in an instant and I swear the one way streets are really 2 ways with the same space allowance. We arrived at Lorenzo de’ Medici, had an orientation and then luckily a man who worked at the school helped me to my room. When I say the elevators are small in our building, I mean it was a struggle for 2 people to fit. With me not liking elevators to begin with, you can imagine my anxiety as it creaked up to the 2nd floor… YIKES! I finally got my 70 pound luggage up the stairs and opened the door to two of my sweet roommates! Because I had an excitement high, I unpacked (I will post pictures later but ultimately a nice apartment!), grabbed some pizza and settled in for the night, excited to finally have WiFi to get in contact with everyone from home!

Come to find out that our apartment is right above a pub and piazza aka my earplugs came in handy (thanks mom)! I had a great nights sleep and we got up in time to grab a cappuccino and croissant then head to orientation. On our way we visited the Ponte Vecchio as well as the higher-end portion of the city. When I say the fashion was phenomenal, I mean that it was incredibly dreamy. Ferragamo on one corner, Roberto Cavalli on the next… PINCH ME PLEASE, would anyone like to donate to my new wardrobe?? Not to mention the native Italian style. The Italians who walk the streets have such an elegantly simple style. The men in particular look fabulous… ALL THE TIME. Makes me fall in love with men’s fashion all over again. The women walk around in gorgeous coats and shoes as well as having an air of confidence that would make any person fall in love with their elegance. Can I stay and become one of them?!

Orientation was boring (except for the cute Italian policeman) but we were in a great theatre with amazing, comfy seats. When that ended, my roommate and I headed out to find a light lunch that ended up at 100 Posti. An old Italian woman came out and said we must stay and eat. Needless to say, we had to speak Italian to order and the margherita pizza was OUT OF THIS WORLD… Fresh, hot and right out of the oven from the short, grey-haired Italian in the back. Even though it was a dreary rainy day, I can’t really complain because I am in the most beautiful city surrounded by incredible views!

Looking forward to spending the weekend finding the best gelato in town!

Until next time…

Molly

Leave a Reply

