A for Appreciate

I just got back from a short little trip back to High Point University for a fun-filled week of sorority bid day celebrations, an MLK service day as well as saying my final “See ya laters” (since I refuse to call them goodbyes) to some of my favorite people. Taking that trip back to the place that I had often loathed for its showy marketing tactics and unnecessary parking tickets, truly made me appreciate what I was really leaving. Looking back on my time there, I finally realized how blessed I am to attend such a unified school. Never in my wildest dreams would I have gotten the opportunities I have if I had chosen a large public school. Sure, I didn’t get to experience the weekends of tailgating or having someone actually know what school I was talking about when asked which college I attend. However I did get something that means so much more. I get walks to class filled with tons of waves from sorority sisters, I get opportunities to serve a poverty stricken community and I also made friends with a small group of the best people I have ever encountered.

Saying goodbye to these ladies was one of the hardest things I’ve ever done. I’ll be missing my best friends graduation, sorority formals and date parties as well as the chance to bond and make memories. However when I look at what I’ll be experiencing instead, I definitely can’t say that I am making the wrong choice. I know that this experience is going to completely change the person I am currently, in a good way of course! Hopefully I learn to let go of my control issues, welcome vulnerability and stay in a few hostels where my OCD/germophobia is challenged (within reason of course, hehe). Although I expected to be entirely nervous about this journey, I can’t say that the nerves have hit me yet. I know navigating through the German airport will be trying as well as having to force myself not to think about the taxi scene from Taken as I travel from the Florence airport to my apartment, however I am determined to make each of these experiences an adventure. I guess what I am looking forward to most is the memories I’ll be making and the adventures I’ll be taking in a place I have never explored. Oh and I could never forget about the amazing food I will be eating. It is very possible that I may come back as a plate of spaghetti or more likely, a cup of gelato!

Until next time you will find me packing (or rather, overpacking) and trying to accept the fact that I don’t need a closet full of clothes to live for 4 months!

Only 3 more days until my plane leaves for Italia!

Molly

2 comments

  1. Love this! Can’t wait to follow all you and keep up to date on all of the fabulous food you’re tasting, beautiful places you’re visiting, and maybe even the cute boys you’ll be meeting 😉

  2. Molly, How wonderful you have arrived on the open door to the rest of your life! Your words say so much about you. I look forward to getting to know the wonderful young woman you are becoming through your letters home. Walk forward with your head held high,eyes wide open and taste buds on full adventure. I love you, looking forward to reading your creative writing home. Its so great to read about someones (as special as you) eyes opening up to the bigger world we live in. Be thankful and appreciate the adventure afforded to you by being your fathers and mothers child. Happy Trails to you,Love, Aunt Tina

Leave a Reply

